The Monuments of Washington D.C.

I found time to do some work on my photos and at the same time update my website, so I thought I’d post a few images from my recent trip to the States.

I noticed that twilight colors in D.C., and other big cities for that matter, tend to be quite different from here in Europe. It’s probably all that smog and pollution of the metropolis, mixed with all the city lights, that affect the the nice blues of twilight. The colors seem to be cleaner here, and I can be facing the East or the West, and still get my blues. When I was in D.C., it was challenging for the naked eye to detect the colors, so I found that I needed to consult the camera as well. These photos were all taken on the same night; the first four were taken much later in the evening, and the last two were taken early and then deep into twilight.

The World War II Memorial honors the 16 million who served in the armed forces of the U.S., the more than 400,000 who died, and all who supported the war effort from home. Symbolic of the defining event of the 20th Century, the memorial is a monument to the spirit, sacrifice, and commitment of the American people.

WW II Memorial and the Washington Monument.

It was quite hard to stay away from the mall crowd, so I put them right into the picture in this long exposure shot.

The Washington Monument and the fountains of the WW II Memorial.

The Lincoln Memorial is an American memorial built to honor the 16th President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. It was dedicated on May 30, 1922.

The Washington Monument is an obelisk near the west end of the National Mall in Washington, D.C., built to commemorate the first U.S. president, General George Washington. The monument, made of marble, granite, and sandstone, is both the world's tallest stone structure and the world's tallest obelisk, standing over 555 feet.

Leave a Reply

