Bedford Blues

Bedford Bridge and the river Great Ouse. These swans were a challenge to include in the shot - I wasn't sure if I wanted them there or not. Since they moved all the time and I wanted to freeze their motion, I had to shorten exposure time. Bedford bridge was nicely lit in blue too, but at the same time, it was also hard to separate it from the blueness of the sky.

Hope everyone’s New Year started out nicely. For the first day of 2011, I thought I’d visit the town of Bedford, and there I was greeted by a group of swans by the river. Swans are known to be symbols of beauty and grace, but new to me is that they are also regarded as masters of earth, wind and water.

I thought I’d share with you this poem I came across today:

Swan of beauty, swan of grace / A queen among her ancient race / She glides across the mirrored lake / No ripple does the surface break. (Susa Morgan Black)

Bedford is another small town in England where the river Great Ouse also runs through – the other one that I’ve shown you was St. Ives. Located in Bedfordshire, East of England, the town of Bedford used to be an old market town during the early Middle Ages. The river, Great Ouse, became navigable during the 1600’s. It passes through the town center and is lined by gardens called the Embankment.

Bedford Swan Hotel - an 18th-century structure and formerly a coaching inn, it's now an elegant city hotel. There's some evident noise in this image from using high ISO; you can see it mostly on the reflections. Those swans just wanted to be in the picture and followed me wherever I set my tripod down, but they also refused to stay still. They may be beautiful but they don't make great models!

There are a few bridges in Bedford that cross the river, and I'm not sure what this one is called. It was the next one downstream from the Bedford bridge.

A different angle of the same bridge above. I like how the green light fell nicely on its own reflection and filled the river with it. I'm also quite pleased with that 14-point starburst created by my 14mm prime.

*These images are available for licensing. Contact me if interested. DO NOT USE without permission.

Leave a Reply

